Follow us

Mumbai Rail network map

Mumbai Rail network map

Print Email Save Buy Now 
Mumbai Railway Network

The Mumbai Suburban Railway has a rapid transit on the inner suburban railway lines expanded by the commuter rails on the main lines that serve the metropolitan region of Mumbai. The Mumbai Suburban Railway is the busiest rapid transit system in the entire world. The railway network is spread over an area of about 465 km and there are more than 2,300 train services. The average number of commuters who travel from these trains is about 7.5 million. The Mumbai Suburban Railway is one of the oldest railway systems in Asia and was built by the British in India.


The Indian Railways operate the system of the Mumbai Suburban Railway in two different zones - Western Railways (WR) and Central Railways (CR). The WR operates the Western Line, while the CR operates the Central Line, the Harbour Line, the Trans-Harbour Line and the Vasai Road-Diva Panvel Line.

Western Line

The Western Line covers a large section of Mumbai's suburbs. It follows the Western Railway northwards from Churchgate parallel to the west coast. The Western Railway's suburban section in Mumbai extends from the city's business centre Churchgate to Dahanu Road and covers a distance of 123 km and 36 stations. In 1928, the first electric train was commenced between Colaba and Andheri. Local services ply from Churchgate to Danahu via Electric Multiple Units (EMUs), while the services beyond Virar to Dahanu Road ply with the Mainline Electrical Multiple Units (MEMUs).

Central Line

The Central Line of Mumbai comprises three main corridors that branch out when they run into the suburban satellite towns. There are two corridors that follow the Central Railway from the Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus (CST) to Kalyan. From here, it divides into Kasara and Khopoli. For the suburban service here, there are both fast and slow locals. The slow locals halt at every station, while the fast locals hault at only a few stations. There is also a line from Vasai Road-Bhiwandi Road-Diva to Panvel, which is a part of the Central Railways. Another line, i.e. Nerul/CBD Belapur-Uran, is under construction and will be operational soon.

Harbour Line

The Harbour Line is also a part of the Central Railways that runs from the Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus (CST) to Andheri and Panvel. The line operate as slow service. A branch line of this main Line from Wadala Road joins the Western Line at Mahim and goes till Andheri. Larger section of this line is elevated.

Trans-Harbour Line

There is also a trans-harbour line that runs between Vashi and Thane, and Nerul and Panvel. It connects Navi Mumbai to Thane.


The local train services begin around 4 a.m. every morning and end at 1 a.m. There are few trains that even run till 2.30 a.m.


The tickets for the trains can be bought for either a single journey (one-way) or a return journey. If a return journey is to be undertaken, the return ticket is valid till the midnight of the following day if it is purchased on weekdays and till Monday in case it is bought on Friday. The tickets can be bought from the following modes:

Ticket Booking Office: Commuters can buy tickets from the booking counters available at all the suburban stations in cash. It is to be noted that a journey has to start in an hour after the purchase of the ticket.

ATVM: At all the stations, ATVMs are available from where one can buy first and second class single or return tickets. ATVMs can also be used to renew season tickets. Smart Cards are used to buy tickets through ATVMs. Smart Cards can be bought from any booking offices at the stations and can be recharged as per requirements. Commuters are given five percent extra value with every recharge.

CVM: The commuters can also buy coupon booklets from all the suburban stations. These booklets are available only in the denomination of Rs. 50 and contain 10 leaves of Rs. 5 each for the use of the travellers. Commuters can get the coupons of the required value punched in Coupon Validating Machines at any station before the commencement of journey. These coupons are valid only for the second class single journey.

JTBS: JTBS is a scheme under which several counters are provided outside the stations from where the commuters can buy unreserved tickets by paying Re. 1 extra per ticket. Currently, there are seven functional counters in the Mumbai suburban section.

IRCTC: The official website of the Indian Railways has a provision for the bookings of the seasoned tickets of the Mumbai Suburban Railways via online mode only.